Grodno region is situated in the northwestern part of Belarus bordering on
Poland in the west and Lithuania in the north. This land is rich in natural
sites: the famous Belovezhskaya Pushcha National Park, the unique Sorochanskiye
Oziora Nature Reserve and many others. Grodno region is popular among tourists,
both those, who like active recreation and those, who prefer educational tourism.
This land can boast a highly developed level of travel business. Here you can
find everything needed for a good recreation: architectural monuments, ancient
towns, a lot of lakes, including picturesque Lake Svitiaz abundant in fish (pikes,
ides, chubs, catfishes, breams, eels, perches and many others). Almost all the
territory of the region is in the river Neman basin and its tributaries: the
Berezina, Gavya, Ditva, Lebeda, Kotra, Usha, Servachi, Shchara, that is why
Grodno region is often called Ponemanye. Tourists also visit the Augustow Canal.
Grodno land is the gem of Belarusian architecture, as it can boast numerous
architectural ensembles of different styles and epochs, which narrate the complicated
history of this region. Tourists are attracted by ancient Novogrudok, Slonim,
Volkovysk, and beautiful Lida. Sts Peter and Paufs Church in Rozhanka Shchuchin
Shchuchin history began on November 11, 1436 after the Roman-catholic church
had been founded there. One of its founders was Trakai Voivode Petr Leliush;
today the name of the village Leliushevtsy reminds of that person. At different
times the owners of Shchuchin were families of the Kuchuk, Kiszka. Radziwill,
Sirut, Yundil, and Davoina. Yet, Shchuchin became a true cultural and economic
centre only after the Drutsky-Liubetsky family had got ownership of the town.
Thanks to them, Shchuchin acquired St. As for the architectural monuments, there
is an old gymnasium building (1821-1829), monuments to R. Traugut and K. Some
park and farmstead complexes have the national status today. One of them, Stary
Dvorets farmstead, known from 1478, has some fragments of a farmstead, a park
and a garden once were owned by the Andzhei-kovich. The Yundils' house remained
in Malaya Berestovitsa.
The urban settlement of Svisloch was first mentioned in the Hypatian Codex
in 1256, when Isiaslav Svislochsky set out against the Yotvingians.
Today the urban settlement can boast its local history museum, Sts Peter and
Paul's Church (1866), the Church of the Virgin of the Holy Assistance (1938),
the monument to Yan Chechot. In Voroncha there is a picturesque park, a brewery
building and St Anne's Church (1773). Some words need to be said about Mir.
This settlement was first mentioned in 1395. Today this place is known for Mir
Castle Complex, that was put on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2000. The
Chechots' House in the village of Podorosk (Volkovysk district) There has been
created the so-called green route (Zelvienski Dyjarus), where Annensky Kirmash
Trade Fair takes place annually. Hypatian Codex, there had already been a settlement
by 1258. 54 monuments of history, 12 -of architecture and 11 - of archaeology
tell us about the rich history of Zelva land.
This region is rich in amenities of nature. You can visit Medukhovo state
natural reserve, Staroselsky regional hunting reserve and the Zelva reservoir
with a picturesque landscape. The most famous monument of history and architecture
is Synkovichi St Michael Church-Fortress which is unique in its style. The Holy
Trinity Church is also popular among tourists. The Kalozha Church, remained
extant in Grodno, is a monument of the Old Russian stone architecture. Guests
of the city fascinated with architectural masterpieces walk the narrow medieval
streets, dropping in numerous cafes and shops. Tourists are usually under the
impression of visiting St. Francis Xavier Cathedral, the Old and New Castles,
the unique synagogue, the History and Archaeology Museum, and many other sites.
Lida was granted the town status in the 15,H-16,H centuries. In 1323-1327
a castle was built at the confluence of the rivers Lideya and Murovanka. Later
the castle suffered from the crusaders' attacks in 1384, 1392 and 1394: from
the army of Yuri Sviatoslavo-vich in 1406 and Svidrigaila in The Church ot the
Exaltation of the Holy Cross in Lida Archangel Michaets Church in Belogruda
1433, from the Crimean Tatars' ag-gression in 1506 and the Ukrainian Cossacks
attacks in 1655. Khan Tokhtamysh and Khan Hoci-Giray took refuge in Lida castle
in 1396-1399 and 1434-1443 respectively. The wedding ceremony of Jagiello and
Sofya Golshanskaya took place right in the castle in December, 1421. It is quite
natural that Lida is a wonderful place for sightseeing.