Ushachi land is a very old land, which is evidenced by the ancient settlements
in the villages of Putilkovichi and Slaveni. There are more than 1,524 burial
mounds in this territory; that is the highest number in our country. Ushachi
got Magdeburg Rights and the coat of arms (the image of St Lawrence .in the
white field at the gold river) on June 23, 1758. In 1776 Ushachi was the centre
of Polotsk voivodeship. Ushachi district was established in 1924.
Tourists are attracted by the unique nature of this land; there are more than
180 lakes here, and Lake Vechelye and Lake Troshcha are among 10 deepest lakes
in Belarus. Obviously, the Krivoye Lake Nature Reserve is the main tourist attraction
of the district. Other protected areas include the cranberry reserve, the botanic
reserve situated on three islands of lakes Cherstviady, Kurgan archaeological
site, Valuny nature monuments and the Barkovshchina spring. History-lovers may
visit St Lawrence Church and an ancient settlement.