Bernardine complex
Bernardine complex consisting of Bernardine monastery and nunnery along with
Bernardine bridge and the square created a unique architectural ensemble. There was a wooden Bernardine church, consecrated in 1631, another Bernardine
church and a Bernardine monastery in Berestye in the early XVII century. Noble
Berestye dwellers Vasil Kopot' and Jan Galemski donated to the building of Bernardine
nunnery in 1623 (1624).
During the wars of 1654 - 1660, the Bernardine church was destroyed and it
was rebuilt anew in 1680. In the XVIII century the church and the nunnery were
reconstructed of brick.
After the plan of building a fortress on the territory of Brest-Litovsk was
approved, in 1833 mass earth - moving work started. The monastery and the nunnery
were reequipped under the guidance of Admiral N. S. Mordvinov. Alexander Cadet
school was located there. When the school was moved to Moscow in 1854 the buildings
were used as a military hospital. In 1915 during the First World War the former
building of Bernardine church was burnt down.
Before the Great Patriotic War up to 22.06.1941 the military hospital was situated
here. After the Liberation of Brest (28.07.1944) the buildings were used by
the Soviet Army military units located here.
In 1992-1993, under the leadership of the archaeologist of the USSR Academy
of Sciences V. E. Sobole the archaeological research of the basement of the
Bernardine monastery were conducted. The women's monastery, the dungeons and
some particular parts of the men's monastery partly remained till today.
|